State House, Senate Republicans pick leaders
By Frank Gerace

State House Republicans have picked their leaders for the legislative session that starts January 8th.

At a meeting in Dover Wednesday night, GOP House members selected Dan Short of Seaford to serve as Minority Leader.

Short was first elected in 2006, and previously served as Minority Whip.

Greenville-area Representative Deborah Hudson was picked to be Minority Whip.

In the Senate, Republicans have picked Gary Simpson of Milford to continue as Minority Leader.

Simpson said in a statement that his, and the General Assembly's, top legislative priority is fixing the economy.

Newly-elected Senator Greg Lavelle, who previously served as House Minority Leader, will serve as Minority Whip.

Republicans picked up a seat in the Senate, trimming the Democratic majority to 13 to 8.

In the House, Democrats hold at 27-14 edge.

Copyright © Apr 24, 2014, WDEL/Delmarva Broadcasting Company. All Rights Reserved.
This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed.

WDEL News Tools:
Printer friendly version
Back to homepage

 Latest News

 Follow Us

Facebook Twitter
RSS Mobile
Email Updates

Copyright © 2014, Delmarva Broadcasting Company. All Rights Reserved.   Terms of Use.
WDEL Statement of Equal Employment Opportunity and Outreach