HS Football Preview - William Penn

By Sean Greene 12:30am, August 16, 2014 - Updated 12:38am, August 16, 2014
VIDEO: A look at William Penn's first practice
William Penn will have one of the rare luxuries in high school football this season: A returning 2,000 yard rusher.

Reggie Carroll exploded through defenses last year, including a grand finale-esque 304-yard, 4-touchdown effort in a state tournament loss to Caesar Rodney.

He finished with 2,088 yards on the season, and with most of his offensive line returning, he could be a serious player to watch for statewide honors as the Colonials open up their season on September 6.

In front of Carroll is an offensive line full of seniors and juniors who started last season, and William Penn has QB D.J. Johnson to try to add more of an aerial threat to the offense this season.

William Penn lost defensive coordinator Paul Robinson after last season, and head coach Marvin Dooley will be tasked with finding a way to improve a squad that surrendered 49 points in the playoff loss to Caesar Rodney.

Besides the usually difficult Flight A schedule, William Penn will test itself out-of-conference right away with games against both St. Mark's and Salesianum to open the season. They were outscored 56-13 by the two teams to kick off the 2013 campaign.

WILLIAM PENN FOOTBALL SCHEDULE (As of August 15)
Saturday, September 6 - Vs. St. Mark's - 1pm
Saturday, September 13 - At Salesianum (Baynard) - 7:30pm
Saturday, September 20 - Vs. A.I. duPont - 1pm
Friday, September 26 - At Appoquinimink - 7pm
Saturday, October 4 - Vs. Newark - 1pm (Homecoming)
Friday, October 10 - At Middletown - 7:30pm (WDEL)
Saturday, October 18 - Vs. Concord - 1pm
Saturday, October 25 - At Charter of Wilmington - 10:30am
Saturday, November 1 - Vs. Glasgow - 2pm
Saturday, November 8 - At Delcastle - 1pm


Most Recent Stories