HS Football Preview - Concord
By Sean Greene

Video player now loading; please wait...
VIDEO: Highlights of Concord's practice

Concord's football practices look a little different this fall.

After 22 years as an assistant, Greg Mitchell has taken over as the head coach of the Raiders. He replaces 44-year coach George Kosanovich, who remains on the staff working with the freshman team.

On the field, the Raiders bring back most of their skill players from the backfield last year, including senior quarterback Austin Coughenour, along with running backs Avery Roberts and Brian Dennis. Zach Zupan will also be called upon to anchor the line to give the players time to break down defenses.

The Raiders finished 2013 at 6-4 after opening 0-3 against playoff teams Middletown, Dover, and Saliesianum. They have finished 6-4 each of the past three seasons since advancing to the Division I Semifinals back in 2010.

Concord opens the Greg Mitchell era on September 5 at Middletown.

CONCORD FOOTBALL SCHEDULE (As of August 18)
Friday, September 5 - At Middletown - 7:30pm
Saturday, September 13 - Vs. Dover - 10:30am
Saturday, September 20 - At Salesianum (Baynard) - 7:30pm (WDEL)
Saturday, September 27 - Vs. Charter of Wilmington - 10:30am
Thursday, October 2 - At Glasgow - 7:00pm (WDEL)
Saturday, October 11 - Vs. Delcastle - 2:00pm
Saturday, October 18 - At William Penn - 1:00pm
Saturday, October 25 - Vs. A.I. duPont - 10:30am
Friday, October 31 - at Appoquinimink - 7:00pm
Saturday, November 8 - Vs. Newark - 10:30am



Copyright © Sep 23, 2014, WDEL/Delmarva Broadcasting Company. All Rights Reserved.
This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed.




WDEL News Tools:
Printer friendly version
Back to homepage



 Latest News

 Follow Us

Facebook Twitter
RSS Mobile
Email Updates




Copyright © 2014, Delmarva Broadcasting Company. All Rights Reserved.   Terms of Use.
WDEL Statement of Equal Employment Opportunity and Outreach