Godwin, Reeder, Trotter top All-State Football Teams

By Sean Greene 7:58pm, December 3, 2013
Middletown's Chris Godwin earned 3 1st Team honors
Middletown's Chris Godwin, Salesianum's Troy Reeder, and Hodgson's Xavier Trotter earned top honors on the DIFCA All-State Football team.

Godwin was named Delaware's Offensive Player of the Year while earning 1st team honors at Wide Receiver, Defensive Back, and Kick Returner. The Penn State signee finished with 56 catches for 1,269 yards and 17 touchdowns. He added another three scores on returns, two on defense, one on a rush, and even threw for two more.

His future collegiate teammate Reeder earned the the Defensive Player of the Year nod as the state's top linebacker, while also being named 1st Team at Tunning Back. Reeder scored a pair of rushing touchdowns in Salesianum's Division I title victory over Middletown.

Trotter also proved to be a versatile two-way weapon, leading the Silver Eagles to the Division II title as a 1st Team Offensive Guard and Defensive Tackle. He was part of a line that helped Ray Jones, the 2nd Team QB, score 4 times in the shutout victory over St. Georges in the finals.

Archmere's Connor Furey also earned 1st team honors on both sides of the football as an Offensive Tackle and Linebacker.

The rest of the 1st team offense included Middletown quarterback Darius Wade, William Penn running back Reggie Carroll, CR fullback Dominique Dorsey. Hodgson tight end Bilal Nichols, Dover wide receiver Tavarus Sample and tackle Michael Hurd, Archmere tackle Conor Furey, Salesianum center Dan Turk, and St. Georges guard Tyler Odrick.

Other defensive 1st teamers include St. Mark's end Mike Adams and linebacker Brendan Fogarty, St. Geroges end Jaire Hicks, Middletown tackle Jacob Bricker, Salesianum tackle Brian O'Neill, Dover linebacker Deon Wright, Archmere linebacker Furey, and defensive backs Ruben Saunders from Hodgson and Darius Jones from McKean.

Tatnall's Tyler Taschner (kicker) and St. Mark's Jeff Richards (punter) were named the top special teamers along with Godwin.

Middletown, Salesianum, Hodgson, St. Georges, and Caesar Rodney each have players filling 8 players on the 3 All-State teams.

DIFCA All-State Offense 1st Team

QB: Darius Wade (Middletown)
RB: Reggie Carroll (William Penn), Troy Reeder (Salesianum)
FB: Dominique Dorsey (C.R.)
WR: Chris Godwin (Middletown), Tavarus Sample (Dover)
TE: Bilal Nichols (Hodgson)
C: Dan Turk (Salesianum)
OG: Tyler Odrick (St. Georges), Xavier Trotter (Hodgson)
OT: Conor Furey (Archmere), Michael Hurd (Dover)
K: Jeff Richards (St. Mark's)

DIFCA All-State Defense 1st Team

DE: Mike Adams (St. Mark's), Jaire Hicks (St. Georges)
DT: Jacob Bricker (Middletown), Xavier Trotter (Hodgson), Brian O'Neill (Salesianum)
LB: Troy Reeder (Salesianum), Brendan Fogerty (St. Mark's), Deon Wright (Dover), Conor Furey (Archmere)
DB: Chris Godwin (Middletown), Ruben Saunders (Hodgson), Darius Jones (McKean)
P: Tyler Taschner (Tatnall)
KR: Chris Godwin (Middletown)

DIFCA All-State Offense 2nd Team

QB: Ray Jones (Hodgson)
RB: Taronn Selby (St. Georges), Marcellus Pack (Dover)
FB: Matt Mellette (Concord)
WR: Brian O'Neill (Salesianum), Quadree Henderson (A.I.)
TE: Joe Schiavoni (St. Elizabeth)
C: Joost Elling (Indian River)
OG: Ben Mersman (Salesianum), Wesley Jones (A.I.)
OT: Foster Holland (St. Mark's), Brendyn Moore (C.R.)
K: Brent Adams (Woodbridge)

DIFCA All-State Defense 2nd Team

DE: Thomas Camper (Concord), Ray Jones (Hodgson)
DT: Josh Herrmann (C.R.), Tyler Odrick (St. Georges), John Flamer (Lake Forest)
LB: Daulton Gregory (Salesianum), Erich Schneider (Middletown), DJ Johnson (C.R.), Matt Boylan (Caravel)
DB: Taronn Selby (St. Georges), Dennis Berger (Middletown), Mike Catalano (St. Mark's)
P: Andrew DiNardo (Salesianum)
KR: Keyjuan Selby (St. Georges)

DIFCA All-State Offense 3rd Team

QB: Logan Wescott (Woodbridge), Alex Kemp (C.R.)
RB: Kani Kane (Sussex Tech), Raekwon Bogues (Dover)
FB: Tymiere Griffin (St. Georges)
WR: Kendall Wicks (C.R.), Justin Hardy (Hodgson)
TE: Dajon Emory (Woodbridge)
C: Ben Holly (Middletown)
OG: Jose Ortiz (Smyrna), Dutch Vanderhout (Newark)
OT: Brian Mailley (St. Georges), Andrew Marshall (Milford)
K: Tim Steindl (C.R.)

DIFCA All-State Defense 3rd Team

DE: Omar Price (Dover), Bilal Nichols (Hodgson)
DT: Michael Hurd (Dover), Wesley Jones (A.I.), Dutch Vanderhout (Newark)
LB: Dan Crawford (William Penn), Juan Morrow (DMA), Chase Harmon (Delmar), Stefon Johnson (Brandywine)
DB: Arthur Miles (C.R.), Timothy Roberts (I.R.), Logan Wescott (Woodbridge)
P: Robbie Budd (Delmar)
KR: Kendall Wicks (C.R.)

Most Recent Stories