Inspiring figures earn DSBA sports awards

By Sean Greene 12:43am, February 18, 2014
VIDEO: Winners of DSBA awards talk about their honors (PHOTO: Tony DeFazio receives the Herm Reitzes Award from DSBA Secretary-Treasurer Chuck Durante)
Atlanta Falcons linebacker, and former Concord and Delaware star, Paul Worrilow won the John J. Brady Award as the Delaware Athlete of the Year honored by the Delaware Sportswriters and Broadcasters Association.

Worrilow finished 12th in the NFL in tackles (127) despite not starting with the Falcons until their 5th game of the season. The former all-CAA performer with the Blue Hens was not drafted, something that's familiar to him as he received no Division I offers coming out of college, and spent a year at Coffeyville Community College in Kansas before walking on to Delaware. He quickly earned a scholarship and made his name with the Blue Hens.

Polytech Girls Lacrosse and Field Hockey coach Lynn Richardson earned the Tubby Raymond Award as the state's coach of the year. She coached her field hockey team to the state semifinals and the lacrosse team to a 13-1 regular season despite battling cancer.

The DSBA's Team of the Year was Salesianum's soccer team. The first-ever two-time winners of the award, the Sals finished 2nd in the country in one publication, highlighted by a victory on the road at No. 1 St. Benedict's Prep in New Jersey midway through the season. They allowed just two goals during the regular season.

A new award for this year was the Buddy Hurlock Award, named after the late News Journal high school sports writer who valiantly battled brain cancer before passing in 2012. The "unsung heroes" who claimed the award in its first year are Mike DeStasio, a national-tournament caliber wheelchair bowler who is in an on-going battle with ALS (Lou Gehrig's Disease), and Erin Wendelburg, a member of Padua's Dance Team who has returned to the squad after learning she had a brain tumor.

Lewes-area umpire, PA announcer, and overall volunteer Tony DeFazio claimed the Herm Reitzes Award for service to his community.

The awards ceremony was held Monday at the Sheraton South Hotel near New Castle.

Most Recent Stories