Samantha Freeland slides home for DMA

Delaware Military Academy shortstop Samantha Freeland was named Delaware's High School Softball Player of the Year by the state's coaches.

Freeland was one of four Seahawks to be named to the First Team selected by the Delaware Interscholastic Softball Coaches Association, a number only bested by the 5 members of the state championship Smyrna squad.

In addition, Appoquinimink's Tayler Vitola was named the Gatorade Delaware Softball Player of the Year.


Pitcher: Delani Sheehan - DMA, Jr.

Catcher: Kaila Quick - Dover, Sr.

1st Base: Julia Thuer - Smyrna, Jr.

2nd Base: Madison Bauerle - Appoquinimink, So.

3rd Base: Sara Miller - Smyrna, Sr.

Shortstop: Samantha Freeland - DMA, Sr. (Player of the Year)

Outfielders: Mikayla Walsh - Caravel, Fr.; Morgan Petty - Milford, Sr.; Abigail Mace - Smyrna; Sr.

At-Large: Kourtney McNatt - Appoquinimink - Jr.; Alexis Dowdy - Dover, Fr.; Payton Dixon - Smyrna, So.; Taylor Wroten - Sussex Tech, Sr.; Cameron Peters - Wilmington Charter, Sr.; Katelyn Evick - Sussex Central, Fr.; Graceyn Frost - DMA, So.; Nicole Elliott - DMA, Jr.; Madison Lemon - Delmar, Sr.; Tayler Vitola - Appoquinimink, Jr.; Taylor Gillis - Wilmington Charter, Sr.; Olyvia Smith - Smyrna, Sr.

Coach of the Year: Missy Pullan - William Penn

Sportsmanship Team of the Year: Delmarva Christian


Pitchers: Savannah Sheats - Caravel, Sr.; Teagan Bradley - Mount Pleasant, So.; Katie Burawski - Polytech, Sr.; Samantha Carbonara - St. Georges, Sr.

Catchers: Mallory Weir - Appoquimink, Sr.; Courtney Kohel - Milford, Sr.

1st Base: Autumn Gentry - Appoquinimink, Jr.; Corrin Farris - Sussex Tech, Sr.

2nd Base: Courtney Paolantonio - Red Lion, Jr.

Shortstops: Natalie Paoli - Caravel, Sr.; Grace Aguilar - Lake Forest, Sr.; Alexis Moore - Smyrna, Jr.

3rd Base: Courtney Brobst - Caravel, Sr.

Outfielder: Alicia Bruce - Appoquinimink, Jr.


Pitchers: Jada Evans - Seaford, So.; Madelyn Pritchard - William Penn, Fr.

Catchers: Brooke Conaty - DMA, Sr.; Ashlyn Stonebraker - Delmarva Christian, Jr.; Zoe Wilcox - Smyrna, Sr.

Shortstops: Carlin Quinn - Cape Henlopen, Jr.; Ashley Steiner - Wilmington Charter, Jr.

3rd Base: Madeline Olivas - Appoquinimink, So.; Clare Henry - DMA, Jr.; Mya Jones - Sussex Central, Fr.

Outfielders: Ryleigh Elliott - Cape Henlopen, Jr.; Bella Hagen - Newark Charter, Sr.; Kathryn Twardowski - Padua, Sr.; Lia Moore - St. Georges, Sr.; Jakayla Sample - Sussex Tech, Sr.

WDEL/Delaware SportsZone Sports Director. National Sports Media Association's Delaware Sportscaster of the Year (2013).