Appoquinimink's 2019 DIAA Baseball Champions

Appoquinimink's 2019 DIAA Baseball Champions

Baseball is a sport where perfection is difficult to achieve, but that's exactly what Appoquinimink did last spring to be named Delaware's Team of the Year by the Delaware Sportswriters and Broadcasters Association.

The Jags finished off a 22-0 campaign with a shutout victory over Caravel in the DIAA Championship Game last June, becoming just the fourth Delaware high school to finish unblemished.

Appoquinimink's perfect run was the first in Delaware since Saint Mark's in 1999, and their 22 wins set a state record.

Their pitching staff, including 2019 Player of the Year Joey Davis, surrendered just 24 runs in their 22 games, with an ERA of under 1.00 when you take out the unearned runs.

Mason Keene, Krew Bouldin, and Aidan Deakins also pitched for Appo during their 4-game tournament run.

The other members of the 2019 Appoquinimink Baseball Team were: John Jones, Nick Davis, Gabe Dermott, Hayden Estes, Jacob Conover, Lorenzo Carrier, Devon Franek, Keegan Miller, Colton Duckworth, Preston Knotts, Dante DiSanatino, Jarrett Weglarz, and Trevor Coleman.

Appo beat out a strong field of potential contenders for the award, including the 2019 Carolina League Champion Wilmington Blue Rocks, undefeated Hodgson football, Caravel soccer, and Delmar field hockey programs, plus many others.

They will be honored at the DSBA's annual banquet on Monday, February 17 at the Sheraton South Hotel in Wilmington