Cape Henlopen celebrates the 2019 DIAA Boys Lacrosse Championship

Cape Henlopen celebrates the 2019 DIAA Boys Lacrosse Championship

Cape Henlopen's Luke D'Ambrogi assisted on 5 goals and scored 2 more as the Vikings defeated Salesianum 12-10 in the 2019 DIAA Boys Lacrosse Championship Game.

Looking to end Salesianum's 4-year run at the top of the sport, the Vikings got a huge goal just before halftime, when D'Ambrogi found Gabe Best in front of the cage who scored with 0.9 seconds remaining on the clock before halftime to take a 4-3 lead into the break.

Cape would continue what would be a 6-goal run in the second half, with Greg Boyce getting a pair of goals, and also D'Ambrogi and Adem Tekmen finding the net, as they held Salesianum scoreless for nearly 18 minutes.

Six-goal leads are never safe in lacrosse, and Matt Riley did an excellent job at the face-off spot for the Sals getting them back into the game with extra possessions.

They turned into goals as Chris Wong, Colby Bushweller, and Chad Cannon scored in a 1:53 stretch to suddenly bring the game to 8-6 with 9:17 to go in the game.

The teams then traded quick bursts of goals.

First, James Heid and D'Ambrogi scored 1:14 apart for the Vikings to get the lead to 10-6, only to have Salesianum's Logan Falconetti and Wong score 17 seconds apart to slide it back to 10-8 with 5:48 still to go.

Cape would win a vital face-off, and D'Ambrogi found Dennis again to get the lead back to 11-8 just 23 seconds later.

The all-important next goal also came out of a Cape basket, as Blake Gipko's sidewinding whistler from distance found a home, and another 4-goal lead.

Salesianum would make one last push, as Wong and Dylan Mooney scored the last two goals of the game, but with just 22.8 seconds left, it wasn't enough, as the Vikings secured their second win over the Sals this season, and third state title since 2008.

Jack Dennis had a hat trick for Cape, who also got an excellent game in goal from Baxter Travers.

WDEL/Delaware SportsZone Sports Director. National Sports Media Association's Delaware Sportscaster of the Year (2013).