Tatnall's 2019 DIAA Track & Field Champions

Tatnall's 2019 DIAA Track & Field Champions

Padua and Tatnall continued their dominance of the DIAA Track & Field Championships, as the duo took home both titles for a 4th straight year.

Padua's 6th straight championship overall didn't come without a fight, as Smyrna, the last team to win a title from them back in 2013, came in a strong second, losing out 163-140 in the point system. St. Georges was well back in third at 77.

Tatnall's win came down to the last race, as Lake Forest entered with a .5 lead, but the Hornets' quartet of Mia Farina, Keelin Hayes, Lainey Teklits, and Vanessa Howard finished second to Ursuline, securing the team victory when Lake Forest came home 5th.

The Hornets' 3.5 margin of victory was the closest in Division 2 since Cape Henlopen edged Tatnall 80-78 for the 2005 crown.

In Division 1, Polytech's Casey Talamini-Kelemen set a meet Division 2 record with a 38'8" effort in the triple jump.

Padua's Lizzy Bader was a double-winner, as she built upon her win in Friday's 3200m with a 1600 victory on Saturday, and a 2nd place finish in the 800.

St. Georges' Charlee Crawford also worked a double, claiming the 400 in a Division record 55.21, and then the 200 later on the card.

The top performer of the meet was in Division 2, where Tatnall's Kimmi Woods pulled off a quadruple-championship.

She won the 100, 200, and 400m dashes, then also claimed the triple jump title.

Christiana's Cierra Brown, also took home golds in Discus and Shot Put.

Lake Forest's Jada Gourdine won individiual golfs in the 100 and 300 hurdles, plus ran the anchor on the 4x200 meter relay, the same group that finished 2nd in the 4x100.

Ursuline's Alaina McGonigle won the 1600, and then took golfs in the 4x800 and 4x400 relays, including a 4x400 grouping that had her sister Rylee, plus another set of sisters in Abigail and Emily Rzucidlo.

Her teammate Anna Pryor won the 3200, and was also on the 4x800 relay.

You can find selected highlights from action below:

WDEL/Delaware SportsZone Sports Director. National Sports Media Association's Delaware Sportscaster of the Year (2013).