A.I. duPont celebrates the 2019 DIAA Boys Track & Field Championship

A.I. duPont celebrates the 2019 DIAA Boys Track & Field Championship

Salesianum's depth proved just enough to hold off a school-record performance by Sussex Central, while A.I. won Division 2 at the 2019 DIAA Boys Track & Field Championships at Dover.

Sussex Central entered the meet not having won a relay in 45 years, but that changed in a big way Saturday, with Andre Teagle, Dominique Smith, Dominic Saragino, and Mahki Herring joining forces for the 4x100 title.

Just to prove that was no fluke, Teagle, Smith, and Saragino were combined with PJ Stratton to win the 4x200 race, and suddenly Sussex Central went from a nice story into a competitor to take home a championship.

Brandon Greenlee gave them a 3rd championship, this one in the Pole Vault, while Herring finished 2nd in the 100m dash.

All of that put them at 89 points, but it wasn't quite enough to catch Salesianum, who hoised the trophy with 95.

They only won two races: The 4x800, and perhaps the championship-winning result at 1600, where Michael Keehan, Sean Banko, and Aiden Higley swept the podium for 24 points, in an event Sussex Central received 0.

William Penn's Matthew Hibbert flashed his speed, winning the 100 and 200m dashes, plus taking part in 2nd place efforts in the 4x100 and 4x200.

In Division 2, A.I. won the title on the back of three championships: Leroy Lynch in the Pole Vault, Daniel Bernard in the Triple Jump, and Zahmeire Lewis' 200m effort. Elijah Edmunds scored in 4 different events , including top 7 efforts in the High, Long, and Triple Jumps to give the Tigers a boost.

They held off Tatnall 102.5-82, with Saint Mark's (77), Howard (73) coming close to bringing home trophies.

In individual results, Howard's Isaiah Kelsey swept the 110 and 300 hurdles, while Tatnall's Napoleon Hernandez won the 800, then was part of the 4x800 and 4x400 championship relays.

Here are some highlights from Saturday's boys Track & Field action:

(Note: We later learned Sussex Central won a relay 45 years ago)

WDEL/Delaware SportsZone Sports Director. National Sports Media Association's Delaware Sportscaster of the Year (2013).