WDEL was awarded Tuesday the national Edward R. Murrow for Overall Excellence in the small market division, the Radio Television Digital News Association announced. It's among the most prestigious journalism awards in the country.

Vice President of Delmarva Broadcasting Company and General Manager of WDEL Mike Reath said he's thrilled.

"This really recognizes everyone's contribution to making the WDEL newsroom as strong as it is," said Reath. "I can't think of a day that doesn't go by where I don't turn the radio station on and just hear something and think--'I am so impressed with what we do in Wilmington to serve this entire state with news and information to keep everyone informed about what's happening in their communities.'"

Overall, the Murrows competition received more than 4,300 entries across all categories.

"Our judges tell us the work they reviewed this year is some of the best ever," said RTDNA Chair Kathy Walker in a written statement. "Our winners have clearly demonstrated how their commitment to outstanding journalism serves their communities, states and the nation."

WDEL's lengthy entry this year included highlighting the comprehensive coverage of Beau Biden's death, Amy Cherry and Tom Lehman exposing homeless female military veterans, as well as examples of breaking news (DuPont merger), specialty reporting (EducationWatch and Andrew Sgroi's Road Scholar), WDEL's contributions to the Help Our Kids Radiothon and Allan Loudell’s regular show featuring high school journalists -- not to mention our extensive digital efforts.

This marks the second time in three years WDEL has won a Murrow for Overall Excellence, which only go to news organizations with the highest standards in serving its audience through quality electronic journalism. WDEL also won the Murrow Award for Overall Excellence in 2014.

"We present the Murrow Awards not only to recognize outstanding journalism, but to inspire radio, television and digital newsrooms across the country," said RTDNA Executive Director Mike Cavender in a statement. "Journalists can learn from each other and push each other to find new and better ways to serve their communities."

CBS Radio, of which WDEL is an affiliate, won the Murrow for Best Newscast for the fourth year in a row.

The winners will be recognized at the RTDNA Edward R. Murrow Awards Gala at Gotham Hall in New York City on October 10.

Overall Excellence award winners in 2016 are:

  • ABC News, New York (Network Television)
  • ABC News Radio, New York (Network Radio)
  • The Washington Post, Washington, DC (Large Online News Organization)
  • Reveal from The Center for Investigative Reporting (Small Online News Organization)
  • CTV Vancouver, Vancouver, AB (Large Market Television)
  • WISC-TV, Madison, WI (Small Market Television)
  • Minnesota Public Radio, St. Paul, MN (Large Market Radio)
  • WDEL-AM/FM, Wilmington, DE (Small Market Radio)

For a complete list of winners, click here.


Contact Amy Cherry at acherry@wdel.com or on Twitter

or like her on Facebook.