Phillies Braves Baseball

Philadelphia Phillies starting pitcher Zack Wheeler (45) delivers in the first inning of a baseball game against the Atlanta Braves Tuesday, Sept. 28, 2021, in Atlanta. (AP Photo/John Bazemore)

Milwaukee righthander Corbin Burnes edged out the Phillies Zack Wheeler to win the National League Cy Young Award.

Both pitchers received 12 first-place votes from members of the Baseball Writers’ Association of America.  Max Scherzer finished third.

Burnes returned from a bout of COVID-19 to win the NL’s top pitching prize. 

Toronto left-hander Robbie Ray bounced back from a dismal season to win the AL Cy Young Award.

In the Year of the Pitcher, Burnes led the majors with a 2.43 ERA and Ray topped the AL at 2.84 and both put up impressive strikeout totals.

Ray got 29 first-place votes. Yankees ace Gerrit Cole got the other top vote and finished second and Chicago White Sox righty Lance Lynn was third.