East Carolina West Virginia Football

West Virginia wide receiver David Sills V (13) makes a touchdown catch while being defended by East Carolina defensive back Chris Love (35).

Wilmington-native David Sills V wrapped up his college career with a second-straight selection to the Associated Press' All-American Team.

Sills was named to the 3rd team, a year after finishing on the First Team and being named a finalist for the Biletnikoff Award as the nation's top wide receiver.

His numbers dropped slightly from 2017, but still found the end zone in 9 of his 11 games, scoring 15 touchdowns on 61 catches. He collected 896 receiving yards, after catching 980 a year ago.

The former Red Lion quarterback transitioned to receiver in college, and currently has 2,007 career yards and 35 touchdowns.

Alabama made its mark on the rest of the AP All-American Team.

The College Football Playoff semifinalists combined to place 10

players on The Associated Press All-America first team, including a

high of four from No. 1 Alabama.

The Crimson Tide had six players chosen to the three All-America

teams, more than any other school. No. 2 Clemson has three

first-teamers, No. 4 Oklahoma has two, including quarterback and

Heisman Trophy winner Kyler Murray, and No. 3 Notre Dame had one.

The Tide and Sooners meet in the Orange Bowl on Dec. 29 and the

Tigers play the Fighting Irish at the Cotton Bowl that day.

The playoff teams combined for 17 overall selections on the teams

chosen by a panel of AP poll voters and released Monday.

The Tide placed two players on each side of the ball, with Outland

Trophy winner Quinnen Williams highlighting the defense. Receiver

Jerry Jeudy, offensive tackle Jonah Williams and safety Deionte

Thompson also made the first team while Tua Tagovailoa was the

second-team quarterback.

Clemson placed defensive linemen Christian Wilkins and Clelin

Ferrell on the first team, and offensive tackle Mitch Hyatt.

Cornerback Julian Love represented Notre Dame on the first team.




Quarterback - Kyler Murray, junior, Oklahoma

Running backs - Jonathan Taylor, sophomore, Wisconsin; Darrell

Henderson, junior, Memphis

Tackles - Jonah Williams, junior, Alabama; Mitch Hyatt, senior,


Guards - Beau Benzschawel, senior, Wisconsin; Bunchy Stallings,

senior, Kentucky

Center - Garrett Bradbury, senior, North Carolina State

Tight end - Jace Sternberger, junior, Texas A&M

Wide receivers - Jerry Jeudy, sophomore, Alabama; Marquise Brown,

junior, Oklahoma

All-purpose player - Rondale Moore, freshman, Purdue

Kicker - Andre Szmyt, freshman, Syracuse


Ends - Clelin Ferrell, junior, Clemson; Sutton Smith, junior,

Northern Illinois

Tackles - Quinnen Williams, junior, Alabama; Christian Wilkins,

senior, Clemson

Linebackers - Josh Allen, senior, Kentucky; Devin White, junior,

LSU; Ben Burr-Kirven, senior, Washington

Cornerbacks - Deandre Baker, senior, Georgia; Julian Love, junior,

Notre Dame

Safeties - Grant Delpit, sophomore, LSU; Deionte Thompson, junior,


Punter - Braden Mann, junior, Texas A&M



Quarterback - Tua Tagovailoa, sophomore, Alabama

Running backs - Travis Etienne, sophomore, Clemson; Trayveon

Williams, junior, Texas A&M

Tackles - Dalton Risner, senior, Kansas State; Andrew Thomas,

sophomore, Georgia

Guards - Dru Samia, senior, Oklahoma; Michael Dieter, senior,


Center - Ross Pierschbacher, senior, Alabama

Tight end - T.J, Hockenson, sophomore, Iowa

Wide receivers - Tylan Wallace, sophomore, Oklahoma State; Andy

Isabella, senior, Massachusetts

All-purpose player - Greg Dortch, sophomore, Wake Forest

Kicker - Cole Tracy, senior, LSU


Ends - Montez Sweat, senior, Mississippi State; Jachai Polite,

junior, Florida

Tackles - Jerry Tillery, senior, Notre Dame; Gerald Willis III,

senior, Miami

Linebackers - Devin Bush, junior, Michigan; David Long Jr., junior,

West Virginia; Joe Dineen, senior, Kansas

Cornerbacks - Greedy Williams, sophomore, LSU; Byron Murphy,

sophomore, Washington

Safeties - Taylor Rapp, junior, Washington; Amani Hooker, junior,


Punter - Mitch Wishnowsky, senior, Utah



Quarterbacks - Dwayne Haskins, sophomore, Ohio State

Running backs - Benny Snell, junior, Kentucky; Eno Benjamin,

sophomore, Arizona State

Tackles - Andre Dillard, senior, Washington State; Cody Ford,

junior, Oklahoma

Guards - Terrone Prescod, senior, North Carolina State; Chris

Lindstrom, senior, Boston College

Center - Michael Jordan, junior, Ohio State

Tight end - Noah Fant, junior, Iowa

Wide Receivers - A.J. Brown, junior, Mississippi; David Sills V,

senior, West Virginia

All-purpose player - J.J. Taylor, sophomore, Arizona

Kicker - Matt Gay, senior, Utah


Ends - Chase Winovich, senior, Michigan; Jaylon Ferguson, senior,

Louisiana Tech

Tackles - Jeffery Simmons, junior, Mississippi State; Ed Oliver,

junior, Houston

Linebackers - Paddy Fisher, sophomore, Northwestern; David

Woodward, sophomore, Utah State; Te'Von Coney, senior, Notre Dame

Cornerbacks - Hamp Cheevers, junior, Boston College; Lavert Hill,

junior, Michigan

Safeties - Andre Cisco, freshman, Syracuse; Jonathan Abram, senior,

Mississippi State

Punter - Jason Smith, sophomore, Cincinnati

WDEL's Sean Greene contributed to this article